Personal tools

Frances Banta Waggoner Community Library
You are here: Home / Adults / Research and Online Learning / Browse All Resources / Free E-Books

Free E-Books

-

Below are links to free eBooks (and some audiobooks!), all old enough to have entered the public domain or otherwise made legally public.

-

Please keep in mind that all card-holders with our library also have automatic access to Iowa's eLibrary, Bridges: this site includes fiction and non-fiction in both eBook and audiobook format, and patrons can check out up to 3 titles at a time. For more information, please click the link below:

-

Link to BRIDGES digital ebook and audiobook collection

-

-

Free Online Book Sites:

-
  • Bartleby Literature, poetry, and nonfiction.
  • Bibliomania — Literature, poetry, drama, short stories, religious texts, and nonfiction, as well as study guides for many classics.
  • Bookboon — Textbooks and nonfiction with a strong emphasis on business books.
  • Classic Reader — Literature, poetry, drama, short stories, and classic junior fiction.
  • E-Books Directory — Literature, nonfiction, documents and lecture notes: strong emphasis on nonfiction.
  • Get Free eBooks — Fiction and nonfiction on a variety of subjects (emphasis on nonfiction), with links to even more free eBooks.
  • Loyal Books — An online audiobook collection including fiction and nonfiction (emphasis on fiction).
  • ManyBooks.net — Literature, poetry, drama, short stories, and nonfiction. Includes contemporary, self-published fiction books.
  • The Online Books Page — Fiction and nonfiction (strong emphasis on nonfiction).
  • Planet eBook — A small collection of 'classic' texts (strong emphasis on literature) offered in a high-quality, downloadable format.
  • Project Gutenberg — Fiction and nonfiction. All featured books previously published by reputable publishers. (Contemporary, self-published books available at a sister site, the Project Gutenberg Self-Publishing Press.)
  • Read Print Library — Literature, poetry, drama, short stories, nonfiction, and essays. Allows readers to create an account to track their books, get recommendations, and join online book discussion groups.
  • Wikibooks — Open-content textbooks, annotated texts, guides, and manuals, created and maintained by Wikibooks' collaborators. Focus is exclusively on instructional content.
  • Wikisource — Public domain books that have been previously published elsewhere, as well as primary and secondary source texts. Collection includes fiction, non-fiction, historical documents, and more.

-